University of Illinois System

The Board of Trustees
of the University of Illinois

The Board of Trustees is the governing body at the University of Illinois. A founding member of the Big Ten, the University has locations in Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield, Illinois. The Chair of the Board is Donald J. Edwards.

collage of trustees' profile photos

The University of Illinois Board of Trustees consists of 13 members, 11 who have official votes. Nine are appointed by the Governor for terms of six years, and three student trustees (one from each university) are elected by referenda at their university for one-year terms.