Top of Page

Who We Are

The University of Illinois Board of Trustees consists of 13 members, 11 who have official votes. Nine are appointed by the Governor for terms of six years, and three student trustees (one from each university) are elected by referenda at their university for one-year terms.

Read More about Who We Are

What We Do

The Board of Trustees is the governing body at the University of Illinois. A founding member of the Big Ten, the University has locations in Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield, Illinois. The Chair of the Board is Donald J. Edwards.

Read More on What We Do

When We Meet

The Board of Trustees meets every other month, generally on a Thursday. The meeting locations are rotated through the three University of Illinois universities: Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield.

Read More on When We Meet